Financial Engineering Laboratory
Technical University of Crete

Constantin Zopounidis



Tel.: +30 28210 37236

Fax: +30 28210 06900

Email: kostas [at]

Constantin Zopounidis is the Director of the Financial Engineering Laboratory. Prof. Zopounidis received his Doctorat D'Etat (1986) in management science, a D.E.A. (1982) in financial management from the University of Paris-IX Dauphine and a B.A. in Business Administration from the University of Macedonia.

Prof. Zopounidis has been with the School of Production Engineering and Management of the Technical University of Crete, since 1987 and served as Chairman of the Department during the period 2001-2005.

Prof. Zopounidis is elected member of the Royal Academy of Economc and Finance Sciences of Spain (a video from the ceremony is available here) and Distinguished Research Professor at Audencia Group, Nantes School of Management.

His research interests include financial engineering, financial risk management, and multiple criteria decision making. He has published over 300 papers in premier international journals, edited volumes, and conference proceedings. He has also published several books and edited volumes on financial engineering and operations research. Prof. Zopounidis is Editor-in-Chief and member of the editorial board of several international journals.

For his research work, Prof. Zopounidis has received awards and honorary distinctions from international research organizations, including among others the ΜΟISIL International Foundation, the Decision Sciences Institute, the European Association of Management and Business Economics, the Royal Academy of Doctors of Spain, the Hellenic Operational Research Society, the International Association for Fuzzy Set Management and Economy, and the International MCDM Society.

On March 21st, 2013, Prof. Zopounidis was elected as a member of the Royal Academy of Economics and Finance of Spain (RACEF). The election ceremony was held in Barcelona, Spain.

Prof. Zopounidis is also the recepient of the Edgeworth-Pareto Award for 2013 from The International Society on Multiple Criteria Decision Making. 

Detailed CV